• Neal Cameron
    Neal Cameron Director
  • Genevieve Dubuc
    Genevieve Dubuc Assistant-Director


The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) is the core representative organ of the UN. Comprising 193 Member States, the General Assembly performs the key policymaking role within the UN. Established in Chapter IV of the United Nations Charter, the UNGA possesses the ability to discuss any matter that is relevant to the UN Charter, with one caveat being that if a dispute or situation is being addressed by the UN Security Council (UNSC), the General Assembly will refrain from discussing said issue until the UNSC has concluded its work. Along with the UNSC, the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the UN Secretariat, the International Court of Justice (ICJ), and the Trusteeship Council, the UNGA is one of the six principal organs of the UN system. The principle of ‘one country, one vote’ is key to the UNGA’s ability to serve as a truly international body, providing Member States from Tuvalu to the United States a forum to work towards the maintenance of international peace and security, international development, and the advancement of humankind.


Start typing and press Enter to search